Skip to main content

Cornell University


The Cornell Institute of Biotechnology is part of the Research Division. It receives investment from the Provost, administered through the Office of the Vice Provost for Research, and by the Empire State Development's Division of Science, Technology and Innovation (NYSTAR)

The Institute of Biotechnology is composed of two centers: the BRC (Biotechnology Resource Center) and the CAT (Center for Advanced Technology).

  • The BRC provides resources and services to the whole university, including the Cornell University campuses in Ithaca, Geneva, the Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City, and Doha, Qatar. The BRC is composed of several core facilities. Each facility has a director who supervises the facility, and a Faculty Advisory Board that provides feedback on current operations and future directions of the core facilities.
  • The CAT's mission is to encourage greater collaboration between private industry and universities in the development and application of new technologies. The CAT supports part of the operations of the McGovern Center.
Organizational chart

Organizational chart presenting the administrative position of the Cornell Institute of Biotechnology in the university. The President of the university oversees the Provost; The Provost oversees the Vice-provost and Vice President for Technology Transfer, Intellectual Property and Research Policy. The Vice-Provost oversees all the research centers and research support office among which are highlighted the Cornell Institute of Biotechnology (CIB) and the McGovern Center (short for Kevin M. McGovern Family Center for Venture Development in the Life Sciences). The CIB is shown as the administrative umbrella of the CAT (Center for Advanced Technology) on one side, and the BRC (Biotechnology Resources Center) on the other side. The CAT and the McGovern Center are connected. The BRC is comprised of various core facilities (Flow Cytometry, Imaging, Bioinformatics, Genomics, Proteomics and Metabolomics), each of them receiving input from their respective faculty advisory board.